Pacific Islands Renewable Energy Investment Program

Pacific Islands Renewable Energy Investment Program

  • Status Under implementation
  • Date approved 15 Dec 2016 at B.15
  • Est. completion 16 Jul 2025
  • ESS Category Category B

Helping free SIDS from their diesel dependence.

This programme covers seven Small Island Developing States (SIDS) which are some of the some of the world’s smallest, most isolated economies. They are the Cook Islands, Tonga, Republic of Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Papua New Guinea, Nauru and Samoa. Power generation costs in these countries is among the highest because of their reliance on imported diesel, along with the high transportation costs from distributing the diesel to often highly dispersed populations.

All SIDS targeted in this programme recognize the benefits of shifting from diesel to renewable energy. This will lead to not only reduced greenhouse gas emissions but also enhanced energy security and improved balance of payments through reduced fossil fuel imports. But they also face various barriers in achieving this aim. This includes the high initial costs of installing renewable energy, the current lack of private sector investment and the pressing need for energy sector reforms.

This programme will initiate a number of paradigm-shifting moves across the seven SIDS. These include feasibility studies on how to expand renewable energy coverage, reform power utility management and encourage private sector engagement by identifying opportunities for independent power providers. Broad initiatives to move SIDS to renewable energy are being kicked off by an element within the programme to assist the Cook Islands install battery storage. This will help spur private sector investment to pave the way towards Cook Islands’ national target of 100 percent renewable energy by 2020.

The project has an estimated lifespan of 15 years.

Total project value


Tonnes of emissions avoided






Result areas

Project timeline


12 Jul 2016 - 157 days

Concept note received

12 Jul 2016

Funding proposal received

01 Oct 2016


15 Dec 2016 - 579 days

Approved by GCF Board

15 Dec 2016

Cleared by iTAP

15 Dec 2016

FAA executed

18 May 2018

Under implementation

16 Jul 2018 - 2,170 days so far

FAA effective

16 Jul 2018

Disbursement - USD 4,900,000

12 Oct 2018

Legal opinion on AE's Internal Approval

21 Nov 2018

Annual Performance Report

28 Feb 2019

Disbursement - USD 9,600,000

26 Nov 2019

Disbursement - USD 1,000,000

26 Nov 2020

Disbursement - USD 1,000,000

01 Jun 2021

Disbursement - USD 250,000

23 Nov 2023

To be completed

16 Jul 2025 - 389 days to go

One region

  • Asia-Pacific

Seven countries

One priority group

  • Small Island Developing States
  • Financing
    • Private sector
    • Public sector
  • Size
    • Micro
    • Small
    • Medium
    • Large

GCF financing99% disbursed

GrantUSD 17,000,000
Total GCF Financing
USD 17,000,000


Co-FinancingGrantUSD 12,200,000
Total Co-Financing
USD 12,200,000

GCF Contacts

General media inquiries

GCF Communications
Send e-mail

Request for information

GCF Information Disclosure
Request information about this project

Project complaints and grievances

GCF Independent Redress Mechanism (IRM)
Phone +82 32 458 6186 (KST)
File a complaint

Integrity issues

GCF Independent Integrity Unity (IIU)
Phone +82 32 458 6714 (KST)
Send e-mail

Accredited Entity

Asian Development Bank
Mr. Christian Ellermann

Senior Climate Change Specialist
More contacts

National Designated Authority

Cook Islands
Climate Change Cook Islands Division of the Office of the Prime Minister
Mr. Wayne King Primary
Director of Climate Change
Office of the Prime Minister, Private Bag, Avarua, Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Phone +682 25494
Phone +682 25 494
Marshall Islands
Ministry of Environment - Climate Change Directorate
Mr. Clarence Samuel Primary
Phone +692 625-7944
Phone +692 625-7945
Honourable Bremity Lakjohn Primary
Minister in Assistance to the President and Environment
Ms. Lani Milne Secondary
GCF Support Coordinator
Phone +692 625-7944
Phone +692 625-7945
Mr. Warwick Harris Secondary
Deputy Director, Climate Change Director
Micronesia (Federated States of)
Department of Finance and Administration
Honourable Secretary Rose Nakanaga Primary
Phone +691 320 2640
Ms. Belinda Hadley Secondary
NDA Office Team Leader
PS 158, Palikir, Pohnpei, Micronesia (Federated States of)
Phone +691 320 2640
Ms. Caroline Werthog Operational focal point
National Coordinator
Department of Climate Change and National Resilience
Mr. Reagan Moses Primary
Secretary for the Department of Climate Change & National Resilience
Government Building, Yaren District, Nauru
Phone +674 557 3180
Ms. Jaala Jeremiah Operational focal point
Director for Climate Action
Government Building, Yaren District, Nauru
Papua New Guinea
Office of Climate Change and Development
Mr. Ruel Yamuna Primary
Special Envoy for Climate and Environment
Dynasty Tower, Stratos Avenue, Waigani, National Capital District, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Mr. Jonah Auka Operational focal point
Ministry of Finance
Ms. Saoleitiiti Betham-Vaai Primary
Chief Executive Officer
1 Apia City Boulevard, Central Bank Building, Apia, Samoa
Phone +685 34332
Mr. Leiataua Ah Ching Secondary
Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Operations Department
1 Apia City Boulevard, Central Bank Building, Apia, Samoa
Phone +685 34332
Mr. Tofilau Siliva Secondary
Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Policy Department
1 Apia City Boulevard, Central Bank Building, Apia, Samoa
Phone +685 34332
Ms. Litara Taulealo Operational focal point
Head of Climate Resilience Investment Coordination Division
Ministry for Meteorology, Energy, Information, Disaster Management, Environment, Climate Change and Communications (MEIDECC)
Mr. Sione ‘Akau’ola Primary
Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
Phone (+676) 28170
Ms. Luisa Malolo Secondary
Director of Climate Change, MEIDECC