Rwanda secures GCF grant to accelerate access to climate finance

Rwanda is the latest developing country to have finalized a grant agreement with GCF.

  • Article type Press release
  • Publication date 02 Oct 2015

This news update is the first in a new series focused on the Green Climate Fund’s Readiness and Preparatory Support Programme. Unique to the Fund, the programme offers developing countries immediate financial support to strengthen their systems and prepare projects or programmes for funding by GCF. The Fund has earmarked an initial USD 15 million to support these countries in such efforts.

Rwanda is the latest developing country to have finalized a grant agreement with the Green Climate Fund, to help implement its national green growth strategy and bring it closer to securing substantial GCF funding.

A grant of USD 300,000 is being disbursed to the country under the Fund’s Readiness and Preparatory Support Programme. The funds enable Rwanda to accelerate access to GCF resources that will be provided for nationally owned projects and programmes.

The government will use the grant to enhance the capacity of the Rwandan Environment Management Authority (REMA), its National Designated Authority (NDA). The readiness support will enable the government to assess the priorities for engaging with GCF, define roles and responsibilities, and build on Rwanda’s Green Growth and Climate-Resilient Strategy.

The grant will facilitate strategic planning and strengthen the government’s convening power to engage national stakeholders. Partners from various sectors, including other government entities, the private sector, CSOs, and the National Women’s Council will be invited to participate and ensure a broad country ownership.

The programme will be implemented by FONERWA (National Fund for Environment and Climate Change) over a period of 12 months.

In addition to Rwanda, GCF is finalizing grant agreements totalling around USD 4.6 million for readiness activities with 16 other countries, including Antigua and Barbuda, Benin, Bolivia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Mali, Federated States of Micronesia, Thailand, Togo, and Vanuatu.